Hundreds run in Everest Marathon

News / Blog

May 31, 2017 – Total 241 runners participated in the Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon, organized on the occasion of anniversary of Mount Everest conquest on Monday, May 29. Runners participated from different countries including Nepal in the Everest Marathon – 2017.

Suman Kulung (male’s category), and Nirkala Rai (female’s category) of Solukhumbu claimed the titles of the Tenzing-Hillary Everest Marathon – 2017. Kulung, 26 years old of Gudel, Solukhumbu, clocked 3 hour 43 minute 57 second to complete the distance of 42.195 km for the men’s title. Nepal Army runners Surendra Basnet and Bed Bahadur Sunuwar secured second and third place finisher. Basnet clocked 3 hour 52 minute 8 second and Sunuwar took 4 hour 5 minute 40 second to complete the distance.

In the women’s section, runners of Solukhumbu district secured top three positions. Nirkala Rai clocked 4 hour 51 minute 33 second to finish the distance. Purnima Rai and Dawa Doma Sherpa saved the second and third position. Rai finished in 5 hour 7 minute 26 second and Sherpa took 5 hour 37 minute 43 second. The top three finishers in both male and female categories bagged purse of Rs 100,000, Rs 75,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively.

Poland runner Pitor Hercog won the foreigner’s category of the full marathon. He clocked 4 hour 38 minute and 22 second to finish ahead of his compatriot and defending champion of the category Robert Celinski who clocked 4 hour 48 minute 8 second. French runner Fabrice Arman secured third foreigner’s position clocking 5 hour 28 minute 30 second.

Thirtha Bdr Tamang won the Everest Extreme Ultra Marathon (60 km), clocked 6 hour 38 minute 56 second. Mohan Dev Joshi and Purna Tamang secured the second and third place. Joshi clocked 7 hour 18 minute 16 second where as Tamang clocked 7 hour 30 minute 0 second to complete 60 km distance.

The top three finishers in the ultra and foreigner’s categories were given equal amount of Rs 100,000 Rs 75,000 and Rs 50,000.

Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and Edmund Hillay conquered Everest on May 29, 1953 for the first time. So Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon is organizing every year on May 29 to salute these 2 Great Heroes. The marathon is rated as one of the toughest and the highest altitude long distance race starts from the Everest Base Camp (5,360 meters) and ends at Namche Bazar (3,450 meters), 42. 195 km. There are three different distance wise marathon; Everest Full Marathon 42 km, Everest Half Marathon 21 km, and Everest Extreme Ultra Marathon 60 km.

First successful Everest climb ceremony in Kathmandu

Meanwhile, several mountaineers and others who have contributed to the climbing industry were honored during a ceremony in Kathmandu marking the first successful Everest climb by Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay Sherpa on May 29, 1953.

Eight Nepali Sherpa guides honored for their work who initially fixed climbing ropes to the top 8,848 meters. After opening the route on May 14, hundreds of climbers were able to reach the top of Everest.

Japanese climber Ken Noguchi, who made financial contributions to Nepal’s mountaineering community after a 2015 earthquake, and Lakpa Sherpa, the female climber with the highest number of Everest summits, were also awarded.

Ang Tshering Sherpa, Chairperson of the Nepal Mountaineering Association said the ceremony also celebrated as a successful spring climbing season.




Leave a Reply